Tribal RelationsSecretary's BioDepartment GoalsNine Tribes in South DakotaLinksFAQContact Us

Nine Tribes in South Dakota

Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate

       Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate map
          clicking map will open a larger version

Government | Elections | Meetings | Education & Media | Leaders | Tribal Contact Information

Reservation: Former Lake Traverse; parts of Marshall, Day, Codington, Grant and Roberts Counties
Division: Santee
Bands: Sisseton (People of the Marsh), Wahpeton (People on Lake Traverse)
Land Area: 106,153 acres (without boundaries)
Tribal Headquarters: Agency Village, SD
Time Zone: Central
Traditional Language: Dakota
Enrolled members living within former reservation area: 9,894
Major Employers: Dakota Sioux Casino, tribal government, Bureau of Indian Affairs
Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate's 2010 Statistical Profile (pdf)

diamond bullet Government
Charter: None; Constitution and Bylaws: Yes 
Date Approved: October 16, 1946
Name of Governing Body: Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribal Council
Number of council members: (7) seven council members
Dates of Constitutional amendments: November 21, 1978, June 9, 1980
Number of Executive Officers: (3) Tribal Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Tribal Secretary

diamond bullet Elections

All elected representatives, including executive committee members and council members, serve two year terms. Elections are not staggered.

The Tribe does not elect a Treasurer, the Vice-Chairman’s responsibilities include all financial duties for the SWO.

Number of Election districts or communities: 7

Current Tribal Leaders

diamond bullet Meetings
The Council shall meet regularly on the first Tuesday, Wednesday and third Thursday of each month or upon call of the Chairman of the Council.
Quorum number: General Council members is ten percent of eligible members

diamond bullet Education and Media
Tribal College: Sisseton-Wahpeton Community College, Sisseton, SD
Weekly newspaper: Sota Iya Ye Yapi

diamond bullet Leaders: Past and Present
Paul War Cloud, a Sisseton-Wahpeton, was born in 1930 near Sica Hollow. A self-taught artist, War Cloud realistically depicted Dakota culture and tradition in his paintings. Many of his works are on display at the Tekakwitha Fine Arts Center in Sisseton. A War Cloud mural, "Unity Through the Great Spirit," hangs at the Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre. War Cloud died in 1973.

diamond bullet Current Chairman: Dave Flute

Sisseton-Wahpeton Constitution(PDF)
Visit Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate's Web site

diamond bullet Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate
PO Box 509
Agency Village, SD 57262-0509
Phone (605) 698-3911
Fax (605) 698-3708



Home | Secretary's Bio | Department Goals | Nine Tribes in South Dakota | Links | FAQ | Contact Us
State of South Dakota

©2011 South Dakota Department of Tribal Relations